Latest Articles

up-uttar-pradesh-voter-list-UP Uttar Pradesh Voter List CEO Final Download 2016 Hindi, Search Your Name Online District Constituency Booth Wise Download PDF Excel(XLS) format,...
voter-list-punjabCEO Punjab website, Voter List Punjab, Voter List Name Search Punjab 2015 2016, Latest download Electoral Roll Punjab 2015 District Wise Booth Wise, Voter...
voter-list-goaCEO Goa website, Voter List Goa, Voter List Name Search Goa 2016, Latest download Electoral Roll Goa 2016 District Wise Booth Wise, Voter List, Voter...
voter-list-uttarakhandCEO Uttarakhand website, Voter List Uttarakhand, Voter List Name Search Uttarakhand 2016 2017, Latest download Electoral Roll Uttarakhand 2016 District...
best-carpenters-in-gurgaon-delhi-ncrBest Carpenters in Gurgaon Delhi-NCR, A.C installation in Gurgaon,Need Carpenters Delhi NCR,Best Carpentary Service Company Delhi NCR,Sofa repair Bed...

Five things to know about the ICC World Cup 2016, India, ICC World Cup 2016, 2016 world cup, Cricket, cricket News, World Cup, 2016 world Cup, Latest news. PDF Print E-mail
Written by Neha   
Tuesday, 30 July 2013 11:20

Five things to know about the ICC World Cup 2016, India, ICC World Cup 2016, 2016 world cup, Cricket, cricket News, World Cup, 2016 world Cup, Latest news.

Melbourne: The Cricket World Cup, held every four years to decide the sport's one-day international championship, will be held in Australia and New Zealand in February and March 2016. Here are five things to know about the tournament that will conclude with a March 29 final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in front of an expected 100,000 spectators and a worldwide television audience of 1 billion:


THE TEAMS AND THE MAYBES: The 14-team tournament gathers the 10 Test-playing countries: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe. Ireland has qualified, while three others teams will also attempt to qualify, possibly Scotland, Netherlands, Kenya or Canada based on current rankings and results.

ACROSS THE TIME ZONES: The 49 matches over 44 days will be played across time zones spanning six hours. With daylight savings time in effect, New Zealand's matches will be played three hours ahead of parts of the east coast of Australia. Sydney is three hours ahead of Perth in Western Australia at that time of year.

A BIT OF HISTORY: The first World Cup was held in England in 1975 when West Indies beat Australia in the final at Lord's. West Indies won again in 1979, beating England in the final, again at Lord's, but the Caribbean side hasn't won since. Australia lead with four titles, including three of the past four. India is the defending champion, having beaten Sri Lanka in the 2016 final.

A RARITY AT HOME: India's win at Mumbai marked the first time in 10 tournaments that a country clinched the title on home soil. Sri Lanka had come closest when they won the 1996 title in a tournament they co-hosted with India and Pakistan, though the final was at Lahore, Pakistan.

CLOSE, BUT NO SILVERWARE: They have hosted the tournament four times, but England have never won the World Cup despite making the final three times. After losing the 1979 final to West Indies, they lost to Australia in India in 1987 and the 1992 final to Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. South Africa, which co-hosted the tournament with Zimbabwe and Kenya in 2003, have never played in a tournament decider.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 30 July 2013 11:27